The Fellowship and NHF launch search for new recipient of Step-Up and Shine Scholarship

step up and shineThis year’s Scholarship recipients, Ollie Vines and Hannah Pettinger

The Fellowship for British Hairdressing and The National Hairdressers’ Federation have once again teamed up to launch this year’s Step Up and Shine Scholarship, giving one lucky stylist the opportunity to win a bespoke education package to kick-start their career.

Named after industry legend, Christofer Mann, The Christofer Mann Step-Up and Shine Scholarship is a competition to find a UK hairdresser who has a genuine desire to learn and improve their skills, and award them with an education package worth £2,500.

The competition, which launched yesterday and is open for entries until 31st January 2015, also offers prizes of a mentor meeting and on-going support to help plan and get the most out of their education year.

“Christofer was a huge supporter of grass-roots hairdressing and believed wholeheartedly in the concept of education for all,” commented stylist, trainer and Step-Up and Shine mentor, Debbie G.

“One again, the Step-Up and Shine Scholarship is open to any stylist or assistant, of any age and any level, anywhere in the UK. No experience is necessary, just enthusiasm to learn. It sums up Christofer’s ethos and sits right at the heart of what both the NHF and The Fellowship regards as fundamentally important.”

Last year, the competition’s first year, the calibre of entries resulted in the Scholarship being awarded to two stylists, Hannah Pettinger from NJUK Beautiful Hair in Chesterfield, and Ollie Vines from Salisbury’s Heaven Hair.

Anyone interested in applying (or wishing to nominate a colleague or friend) is asked to record a one-minute video on a smart phone or recording device explaining why they love hairdressing and why they would be a great candidate to receive a Step-Up and Shine scholarship.  The video should be uploaded to the NHF website via and will then be uploaded to the NHF YouTube channel for judging.

The deadline for entries is 31st January 2015.